The Gift of Giving

Each year, many people around the world go without the special feeling of receiving gifts or enjoying a big festive Christmas Lunch.   Many charities do their part in bringing  joy to those in need and there are many different ways in which we can also assist.

At Christmas, more than any other time we are reminded just how much we do actually have and its nice to be in a position to help others, even if its a small way like helping a neighbour with their garden or errands, donating your time to charitable works or small token gestures for folks who are not expecting it.   When I was small, my mother would purchase christmas gifts for the Kmart Wishing Tree, which is a charitable drive run through the store in association with the Salvation Army.  I always thought it was a lovely way to make a small difference in someones’ life at Christmas and it is a tradition I have continued myself as I have grown.  Now I have children of my own, its a good way to have them assist in choosing a gift and hopefully instilling in them the importance of helping others.  One reason I love it so much is that you can give any type of gift, not just something purchased at their store.  It can be handmade or bought from another place.

This year, Miss N’s school is having a similar charitable drive and so we were most excited to be choosing two gifts to bring smiles to some children this Christmas.  Here is what we chose…

Miss N decided her recipient would be a girl of 7 years old (Appropriate, don’t you think?!).  She scoured the store and decided on:

  • A Fairy Doll;
  • A T-Shirt;
  • Some shimmery Body Lotion

Wishing Tree Gifts 1

I tried to explain to her that maybe she should choose a few different things (not just toys) as I figured its a nice idea to get things that are useful as well as things you just want.

I chose a boy of 6 years old and here is my selection:

  • A Shirt;
  • A small Lego set;
  • A Stationary Set;
  • “Oh! The Places You’ll Go” book by Dr Seuss (One of my favourites – inspiring and thoughtful so I thought!)

wishing tree gifts 2

Please remember others less fortunate this Christmas (as well as the rest of the year).  It does sound very blah, but if we all concentrated on being a little more helpful and charitable to others, the world would be a much nicer place to live in.

Dx

P.S – This is not a sponsored post in any way.  I just really love the whole idea of the Kmart Wishing Tree and felt the need to share.  However, if Kmart want to come on board and sponsor us here at HYB – I doubt we would complain:)

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

