Road Test Tuesday – Quesadillas with McKenzie’s Beans

Red Bean Quesadillas

Mel and I have had some McKenzie’s Beans to try these past weeks and I have bean (!) lacking in inspiration for use of them.  I tried a few things and they didn’t quite work out and I guess i got a little grumpy and cast them aside for awhile – maybe waiting for my mojo to return?!  Yesterday however, I cooked up a delightful little dinner that really did make me happy again. When I think of beans, I think of Mexico.  God knows why as I have never actually visited the place and I’m sure they eat other things there.  I used the pack of dried Red Kidney Beans and made the yummiest Quesadillas ever (at least I thought so!).

Red Bean Quesadillas

Feeds 2-6 (depending on how hungry you are!!)

YOU WILL NEED

1 x Pack dried McKenzie’s Red Kidney Beans – cooked as per packet instructions

1 x sachet Burrito Seasoning (or make your own)

A lug of olive oil

1/2 cup water

Burrito Tortillas

2 x cups (at least) Grated Tasty Cheese

1/2 x Chopped Red Onion

1 x large handful of Chopped Fresh Corriander

1 x Avocado, chopped or removed from the flesh with a teaspoon

Sour Cream

Taco Salsa

Chilli (optional)

Squeeze of Lime

THE HOW TO

Cook your beans as per the instructions and drain;

Add your burrito seasoning, oil and water and mix on a low heat until coated and warm;

Heat a dry saucepan to medium and add a tortilla to the pan.  Spoon a few tablespoons of beans mix onto one side of the bread, add a small handful of onion, corriander and a small amount of avocado;

Top with a good handful of grated cheese (and chilli if using) and fold over the empty side of the tortilla and gently and firmly press down;

Cook for a minute or so until the cheese melts and transfer to a plate. Repeat until done.

Top your Quesadillas with a good spoonful (or two) of tomato salsa, sour cream and a good squeeze of lime.

Ole!

McKenzie’s have a great range of products (not just beans) and are available in selected supermarkets across the country.  

The million dollar question though – is would I buy them and use them?  Honestly – probably not that often.   In the slow cooker, these dried beans would be fantastic, however I find I normally use them as a quick addition to mince, to bulk out a meal or as a fast breakfast – and in that case i would rather save time and use a tinned variety.  That being said – I’m sure as I play around with more recipes – my thoughts on that may change.  I’ll get back to you!!!…..

Dxx

This is not a sponsored post. I did not receive payment for this post. However, I did receive a package full of yummy McKenzies beans and lentils to road test and create some delicious meals. All opinions expressed are my own.

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

