Worldly Wednesday – Breakfast Baskets

Honey, You Baked! Breakfast Baskets

If there is one thing in this world I detest – its a boring breakfast.  I have never been a real cereal fan (I think wanting the mini Coco Pops out of the variety pack as a child was the most excited I ever got about that..) and when I have time the type of brekkies I love to make involve eggs and bacon and pancakes and oodles of yummy sauce.

This recipe came about as I saw a similar type of thing in blog land a few weeks ago.  I was instantly hooked. This is my type of breakfast! Hot, fully of good things, totally customisable to personal taste and easy to grab and run.  Read On – I’m sure you will love it too:)

BREAKFAST BASKETS

Serves 1

YOU WILL NEED

1 x small Bread Roll (top cut off and insides hollowed out);

1 x Egg;

2 x tablespoons or so of White Sauce (made or bought if you are lazy!);

Fillings of your choice (I used 2 x slices ham, 1 small bunch basil, a sprinkling of chilli flakes and a teaspoon or two of chopped red onion)’

A handful of grated Cheese

THE HOW TO

Preheat your oven to 200Deg C;

Cut the top off your roll and hollow out the insides;

Spray with a little olive oil and pop in a hot oven for a few minutes until the inside is just starting to crunch up;

Take from the oven and add your choice of fillings, leaving a hole in the centre;

Crack your egg into the hole, and add the white sauce around it;

Top with cheese and place back in the oven for approx. 15 mins or until the outside of the roll is crunchy and the egg is just set.

What I really love about this is that you could add anything you like – for instance – imagine the awesomeness of an eggs Benedict Breakfast Basket! That’s it – I’m having that next….!!

Comments

  1. Saw a similar idea on FB recently, an avocado half with an egg in the seed hollow, topped with cheese und under the grill. Will have to give both a try!

    • Oh that sounds good too! Thanks for sharing – I feel I will need to have a go at that also – I heart Avo’s!!

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

