Stir Fried Chicken with Broccolini & Mushrooms (Gluten Free!)

Gluten Free Chicken Stir Fry with Brocolini & Mushrooms

My dear MIL was over on Wednesday (who is Celiac) and ended up staying for dinner.  I had a slight “OMG!” moment realising she could not eat our planned meal, so I had to do a quick re-invention of the recipe and ended up with a great Gluten Free Stir Fry for dinner.  I love the challenge of cooking GF food as it really makes me think on my toes and ensure the meals are suitable for her.

Our menu already said Chicken Stir Fry, however since most of the sauces and products I would normally use contain gluten in some form or other, I really had to do a bit of swap and change to make sure  I wasn’t about to make her sick.  Thankfully we already had GF Soy Sauce, but I really wasn’t sure what else I could use to make sure the flavours really stayed true.

I did a bit of searching and found a few alternatives to things, then changed my entire stir fry recipe around to something completely different (just because I can..).  The end result was a great stir fry with loads of flavour.

Stir Fried Chicken with Broccolini & Mushrooms

Serves 4-5

  • 500g Chicken Breast – sliced thinly
  • Mushrooms, sliced 200g
  • 8-10 Stalks of Broccolini, stalks sliced thinly in rounds and heads roughly chopped insto small florets
  • 1 x Brown onion, sliced thinly
  • 2 Cloves garlic, finely diced
  • 1 Thumb sized peice of ginger – finely diced
  • Vegetable Oil (to fry)
  • 3-4 drops Sesame Oil
  • 6 – 8 Tablespoons GF Oyster Sauce
  • 1-2 Tablespoons GF Soy Sauce
  • Cracked Black Pepper
  • 1 x Red Chilli, sliced thinly
  • Gluten Free Noodles (Hokkien Style)

The How To

Prep all your ingredients and have them ready to go;

Prep your noodles as per the packet instructions, drain and have at the ready;

Add some vegetable oil to a hot pan and add your chicken.  Fry quickly for about a minute;

Add your garlic, ginger and onion and toss.  Fry for another minute or so before adding your broccolini stalks;

Next, pour in your sauces and pepper and toss well to combine;

Finally, add your mushrooms, noodles and chilli and mix through well;

Serve out into bowls and enjoy!

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

