Chocolate Bourbon Cake – Sweet Adventures Blog Hop

SABH Cocktail party

Hands up – who likes chocolate (me), who likes cake (me), and who likes bourbon (not me)!!

I decided to make this one for this months Sweet Adventures Blog Hop ‘Cocktail Party’ (hosted by JJ over at 84th and 3rd) since we had chocolate and bourbon in the house and as a treat for A1 who is partial to a bit of bourbon.

Turns out even I loved it! Delicious, moist, yummy! I WILL be making this baby again!

The original recipe can be found on the Taste website here

Below is my attempt at a Thermomix conversion. I’ve still got my learner conversion plates so I’m sure it can be improved. The cake still worked though and tasted amazing!

Chocolate Bourbon Cake

You’ll Need
200g dark chocolate
125g unsalted butter
5 eggs, separated
120g lightly packed brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla essence
125g almond meal
1 TB bourbon whiskey

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180ºC. Brush a 23cm (base measurement) springform pan with melted butter. Line the base with non-stick baking paper.
  • Grate chocolate for 4-10 seconds on speed 8 (I used choc chips and grated for 4 seconds).
  • Add in your cubed butter, melt for 3 minutes at 50°C on speed 3. Pour into a bowl and set aside to cool.

Melted chocolate and butter

  • Place brown sugar and egg yolks into TM bowl and mix for 60 seconds on speed 5-6, adding vanilla with 10 seconds to go.

Sugar and egg yolk

  • Insert the butterfly attachment into the bowl.
  • Add the chocolate mixture, bourbon and almond meal to the bowl and combine for 1 minute on reverse speed soft.
  • If you have a spare bowl and blade set, use that to beat your whites. I didn’t so used Big Red (my mixer) to beat the egg whites until soft peaks formed.

Soft Peaks

  • Gently fold one third of your egg whites into the other mix, once combined fold in the remainder.
  • Spread over the base of the prepared pan (my pan was larger than recommended).

Batter in pan

  • Bake for 45-55 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out almost clean. Set aside to cool.

There is a chocolate sauce to top the cake with the recipe on the Taste site. I started to make it then got distracted by the kids and it was a complete flop. I overlooked the caramel for it, so turned it into a caramelly toffee-like coating for looks, but trust me, this cake is so moist you don’t need a sauce.

Just cut into wedges, serve and enjoy!
Chocolate Bourbon Cake with Caramel-Toffee Topping

Don’t forget to head over and check out the other Cocktail Party attendees at 84th and 3rd

Comments

  1. Ohh sounds like a fabulous cake and I must admit, I am partial to a bit of bourbon ;D

    • I’m not a massive fan, however I will drink it if there is nothing else and we have good bourbon in the house! I got A1 some Maker’s Mark for Christmas which I must say I WILL drink and that’s what I used in this. I’m now a fan!

  2. The cake looks fantastic!

  3. Looks so boozy and rich, how delicious!!

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

