Those Paleo di-hards are gonna scorn me….

 

 

Have you noticed how the world has gone Palao mad?  Every second person is talking about it and most seem to think of it as just the latest Diet fad.  I overheard someone talking the other week about it in terms of….”If i eat this way, then i WILL loose heaps of weight”.  I almost snorted out loud.  Yes, a lack of carbs/starch/call it what you will may HELP you slim down, but the only way its going to stay off is to um, EXERCISE!!!!!  (OMG – freaky, isnt it!!).

I must admit even I dont eat too much bread and starchy things these days, however I feel that every now and then you need some!.  Everything in moderation!!!  Life is not a dress rehersal and I’m buggered if I’m going to want to live longer without enjoying the things I love!!!

One of the things I really love is fresh bread (mmmmmm).  As I said, I don’t really eat much of it these days but when i do I want a really tasty morsel to get my taste buds tickled!  This recipe does just that:)

 

Rosemary & Garlic Stretchy Bread

Garlic & Rosemary “Stretchy Bread” (or a cheats’ Foccacia, really)

500g plain flour

1/2 teasp. salt

1 good “glug” Olive Oil

2 teasp. instant yeast (I have the type you can add straight to your mix – you should be able to get it from deli’s)

Approx 320ml water

TOPPING:

2 cloves garlic

2 stems rosemary

S&P

Olive Oil

 

I use the dough setting on my bread machne to do the kneading and rising for me, however you can do it the old fashioned way if you like.

Once your dough is ready, give it a quick knead of about 30 seconds with a little extra flour.  Now “stretch” it out as evenly as possible – across a pizza stone or on a tray with some baking paper.

Top with 2 cloves crushed garlic, 2 x stems rosemary (stalks removed), S & P to taste and a little olive oil (i used spray oil – its great, you don’t need much).

Bake in a 200Deg C oven for approx. 20 minutes.

Cut it into little triangles with a pizza cutter – makes the job quick and easy!!

YUM!!

Comments

  1. Lisa @ mummy's undeserved blessings says:

    Yum! I agree Paleo is not for me. Give me bread and a couple of morning runs to work it off. I will be trying this with my girls. They love helping me make bread.

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

