12 Days of Christmas – Christmas Menu Themes – Tapas/Finger food ideas

HYB does Christmas

Here are a few simple ideas if you are having a casual lunch or maybe even afternoon or cocktail gathering for Christmas. Great served before a BBQ lunch, or put together a platter with some really good quality sliced meats, olives, dips (we made some here last week) and breads etc. for everyone to share.

Roasted Cherry Tomatoes stuffed with Feta and Basil

Danni got me onto these. These are simply delicious. I added in basil, since It’s such great a friend with tomatoes. Great for party food, they get snapped up really quickly.

When I’m entertaining, I use two punnets and a whole pack of feta, this time, I just used one punnet tomatoes/100g of feta.

Ingredients

You’ll need

Cherry Tomatoes

Feta – preferably the smooth/Danish type

A small handful of basil – finely chopped

1 small clove of garlic – crushed

  • Preheat oven to 180C (160 if fan-forced)
  • Grab a sharp paring knife and slice the top of each tomato off – keep the top with the tomato.
  • Carefully cut around the inside of the tomato and scoop out the innards into a bowl (I find it best to use a small teaspoon for this).
  • I line up the tomatoes as I do this and put their ‘lid’ next to them so they don’t get mixed up, you’ll need them later.

Lids off!

  • Separate the chunky bits of the tomato flesh from all the watery/seedy bits (you don’t need it) – as much as you can, but don’t stress, you will get some seeds in there. Finely chop the flesh and squeeze out any excess liquid.

Tomatoes

  • Mash up your feta in a bowl, add in garlic, basil and tomato. Season with cracked pepper if you wish.

Feta stuffing

  • Gently stuff the tomatoes with the feta mix, being careful not to split them. Pop the ‘lids’ back on top.
  • Pop on a lined baking tray in the oven for 20 minutes or until slightly softened and cooked right through.

Oven roasted stuffed cherry tomatoes

Prawns with a simple delish aioli-style dip

This aioli is oh-so-good and quick and easy to whip up. I use it in so many different guises. In fact you might recognise it in the prawn sandwiches from the Sweet Adventures Blog Hop High Tea post we did a little while back.

Prawns with aoili ingredients

You’ll need

Cooked prawns – I really, REALLY miss our regular jaunts to the fish markets in Sydney. Sadly, these babies are just from the Supermarket!

A small jar of Thomy mayonnaise – you can see I used a different one, it was on special, and it was pretty nice, but this tastes best with the Thomy mayo, believe me! One day i shall have a crack at making my own. I used around 270gm.

Coriander – finely chopped (I had coriander microgreens from the markets so just pulled off the tips)

One lime

One clove of garlic – crushed (if you prefer it in there, since the mayo I used was garlicky, I didn’t add it)

Salt flakes and cracked pepper to taste

  • Peel and de-vein your prawns, leaving the tails intact – well you don’t have to but I think they look better on the platter this way.
  • Mix together your mayo, coriander and garlic.
  • Squeeze in the juice of one half of the lime. Add a tablespoon of water to loosen up the mix a bit.
  • Grab a prawn and dip. Taste and adjust the flavouring with your salt and pepper, you may even want some more lime juice.
  • Serve on a platter and garnish with a little extra coriander.

Prawns with aioli dip

Strawberry Santa Hats

I also made strawberry santa hats. To be honest I was in a rush, and I wanted them on skewers similar to the ones I did for Ella’s Pixies and Pirates party and they just didn’t turn out fantastically – however worth another try. So I thought I’d add them in as another idea for something sweet.

You’ll need

A punnet of strawberries

White chocolate for melting.

  • Chop the ends of the strawberries to make a flat base.
  • Melt your white chocolate, I just did it in the microwave, it works better in a double boiler (there’s me rushing again)…
  • Dip the base into the chocolate. Twirl it around a little so excess drips off.
  • Place onto some baking paper to set.
  • Once the bases have set, dip the tops into the chocolate and allow to set.
  • Et voila! Strawberry santa hats (come on, use that imagination!)

Strawberry santa hats

  • Like I said I was rushing. Some of them dripped too much, so I rolled them in the chocolate and then in some hundreds and thousands.
  • Et voila! Crappy looking Christmas trees? Maybe?

Strawberry Christmas Trees

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

