Kurrajong Kitchen – Lavosh Bites

Danni Said…

Sitting at home whilst Himself is on night shift is normally not too exciting. However. This particular night I was testing out my first box of Kurrajong Kitchen Lavosh Bites. YUM YUM.   I made up the dip on the back of the pack (Rocket, Coriander and Macadamia) and  settled down with a bit of Jamie Oliver on the telly for company.  Now THAT’S what I call a great night in! Just a bit miffed I didn’t have any wine….

Rocket, Coriander & Macadamia Dip

Serves 6 (or two nights worth of very hungry Danni!!)

2 Cups firmly packed rocket leaves

1 cup fresh coriander leaves

2 Garlic cloves

1 small red chilli

1/3 cup toasted macadamias

2 tablespoons olive oil

40g Parmesan, grated

1/2 cup Greek Yoghurt or Sour Cream (I used the Yoghurt)

Salt & Ground Black Pepper to taste

THE HOW TO

Put your Rocket, Coriander, Garlic, Macadamias and chilli in a food processor and mix till finely chopped.

With the motor running, gradually add your oil and process till well combined.

Transfer to a bowl and stir in the Parmesan and Yoghurt. Season to taste.

Place in an airtight container and cover with a little olive oil to stop the air turning the rocket black.

Refrigerate for a little while to allow flavours to develop.

NOTES ABOUT KURRAJONG KITCHEN LAVOSH BITES

  • 1 x 145g box of Lavosh Bites costs $3.49 (RRP) and are available from your local Coles or Woolworths Supermarket
  • Available in Original, Poppy & Sesame, Soy & Linseed and Shepherds Bread Sesame & Sea Salt…
  • Kurrajong Kitchen is in Windsor, NSW which is local to me! (Gotta love that)

MY THOUGHTS

  • I love how they come packed in foil for freshness (Makes keeping some for later easy);
  • They were nice and bite sized;
  • Did they taste good alone?  Yes.  The girls were scoffing them! ;
  • Did they go with the dip recipe on the pack?  Absodoodlelootely!  The dip was a sensation;
  • What did the others think?  The family really enjoyed them, as did our friends who had them at a lunch we attended.  They went fantastically with the gooey Brie Cheese as well as the antipasto platter! ;
  • Would I buy them again?  You know, I think I actually would.  A nice alternative to chips and thin enough you can have a stack of them with dip/cheese etc and not feel like a greedy bugger!  They are not too expensive and everyone enjoyed them. WIN!!

Mel said:
I packed some for Miss E’s lunch along with some left over dip for her birthday party! A nice treat along with some other healthy choices (well aside from the shortbread star!) Lavosh Bites for school lunch

  • Both Miss E and Master O like to snack on them, and since they are egg-free I can confidently give them to Master O without any concerns of a reaction. Absolute bonus!
  • I like the fact that they look a bit more fancy than your regular water crackers so are great for entertaining.
  • I’ve had them with goats cheese, numerous dips and on their own and they work well with all those things, though personally I’m not as much of a fan of them just on their own (I found a couple of the flavours were too dry by themselves). The kids loved them alone or with something to dip them into.
  • I’ve already bought two more packs!

I also whipped up a dip. I tried a corn relish dip that the lovely Kurrajong Kitchen people supplied. My Mother in Law makes a cracking corn relish dip, so this one had a lot to live up to. Turns out it was pretty similar – I’ll have to dig out her recipe and have a comparison soon!

Corn Relish Dip

Makes: approximately 3 cups (definitely enough for a party/entertaining, so perfect for Christmas parties )

Prep: 10 minutes

250 g block cream cheese

250g jar corn relish

300g can creamed corn

1 cup tasty cheese

2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

THE HOW TO

Place cream cheese into a large mixing bowl, beat with an electric mixer until smooth.

Add corn relish, creamed corn, tasty cheese and chilli sauce and mix until well combined.

Season with salt, and pepper to taste.

Serve cold  – I served it with the Poppy & Sesame Lavosh Bites!

Kurrajong Kitchen Corn Relish Dip with Lavosh Bites

For further info on their product range – and more yummy recipes – head on over to the Kurrajong Kitchen website.

* Honey, you Baked! love sharing new things. This is not a sponsored post, however we did receive a pack of each flavour to try. All opinions expressed are our own.

Comments

  1. mummysundeservedblessings says:

    Great dips! I am going to try the Coriander one soon. I made humus yesterday for the first time and it turned out pretty well. I think I really should make my own dips more often as they taste better.

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

