Nanny’s Kiss Biscuits

Yesterday I was debating what I was going to post for Worldly Wednesday this week. Unlike the Super Organised Mamma Danni – who awesomely has all her posts scheduled and ready to go in advance. I work best at the last minute…

So it would seem divine providence that the mailman then delivered a letter from my Nan. Containing some of her recipes.
20121113-175701.jpg
As far divine providence goes, I’m pretty sure Nan has a direct line with the Big Guy up there. You see, Nan raises money for those in need by baking.
Nan is 93 (or thereabouts I’m useless with ages, I even have to count back to work out Ella’s and she is only just about to turn 4), pretty much profoundly deaf and still lives at home taking care of herself. She’s clever and opinionated and at least 2-3 times a year, we’ll open the paper to see a letter to the editor written by her…

She bakes, lots. After church on Sundays she sells the baked goods and the profit goes to charities, nuns, missions around the world. How awesome is she? Well I think she is!
I have delicious memories of her humming away to herself baking scones and making pikelets (she called them drop scones) for me when I stayed over as a child.

I love the fact that she softens her butter in the oven as it is pre-heating.

20121113-194257.jpg
Here is one of my favourites from the recipes she sent – Kiss Biscuits!

Kiss Biscuits
Ingredients

125gm butter or margarine
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup SR flour
1 cup plain flour
1 TB custard powder
Pinch of salt

  • Cream butter and sugar.
  • 20121113-194304.jpg

  • Add egg.
  • 20121113-194314.jpg

  • Sift together flours, custard powder and salt. Add to the creamed butter/sugar/egg and mix.
  • 20121113-194322.jpg

  • Turn out and knead to a firm dough. (My mix was quite dry – since my egg was on the small side, so I kneaded it in smaller lots so it didn’t break up).
  • 20121113-194328.jpg

  • Roll out fairly thin and use a cutter to make rounds. I made big ones which made 24 rounds – Nan suggests it makes 36, hers are smaller!
  • 20121113-194334.jpg
    20121113-194341.jpg

  • Bake in a moderate oven, fairly quickly.
  • Allow to cool.
  • Join two rounds with raspberry jam, ice with strawberry icing and finish with sprinkles. (I used regular white icing – 1 cup icing sugar & 1-2 tablespoons of water – and LOTS of sprinkles!)
  • 20121113-192847.jpg
    20121113-192911.jpg
    20121113-192831.jpg
    20121113-192858.jpg

    Comments

    1. library geek in trainingAllison says:

      Mel they look really yummy and all the more special because they mean something

    Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

