Worldly Wednesday – Olliebollen

Wondering what Olliebollen is? It’s one of my favourite treats! They are little fruit doughnuts. Dutch in origin, they are traditionally a New Years treat.
I went to a school that was originally started by a number of Dutch people in our local community. There were a lot of Dutch families attending the school and so it was only natural that our school fair served these treats – and eventually the school fair became known as the Olliebollen festival.
Once a year in October, I get to feast on these yummy fried beauties. It was my favourite Dutch thing, in fact since I wasn’t Dutch, I felt like I didn’t fit in at my school and generally hated my high school times. I walked out of that place at the end of year ten and swore I would never, ever marry a Dutch man.

Four years later, I met a wonderful guy. In fact, the night I met him after many hours of talking, I just KNEW he was the one. Weird huh? But true. It just felt RIGHT. He was however half Dutch… Typical! I managed to reconcile with that, because you know what? The boy cooks Olliebollen! All was forgiven.

So here it is, A1 cooks Olliebollen!

Olliebollen

Ingredients

    ¾ oz compressed yeast (or around 1 ½ sachets of dried yeast)
    1 cup lukewarm milk
    9oz (2 ¼ cups) plain flour
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 egg
    3oz (3/4 cup) currants
    4oz (3/4 cup) raisins, chopped (or sultanas if preferred)
    1 ½ green cooking apples (grated)
    Oil for deep frying

Method

  • Mix yeast to a smooth paste with a little of the warm milk.
  • Sift flour into mixing bowl, make a well in the centre, sprinkle salt around the edge.
  • Pour yeast mix, remainder of milk and beaten egg into centre of flour and mix to a smooth batter with a wooden spoon. Stir in currants, raisins and apple.
  • Olliebollen dough

  • Cover and leave to stand in a warm place until it rises and doubles in size.
  • Dough a-risin'

  • Heat oil for deep frying, drop in golf ball sized lumps of batter. Cook until golden.
  • Frying Olliebollen

  • Serve warm sprinkled with icing sugar.
  • Olliebollen - yum!

    Comments

    1. I love these, only ever get them when I go to Salamanca Market, which isnt very often.

    2. Wow, these bring back some good memories. When i was 15 we had a German exchange student stay with us for a few months and she made these every Sunday. I didn’t take much notice what they were called but when i saw the title of this post i just knew they were the delightful puffs of fruitiness and sugary yumminess i was fond of back then! I’m going to practice making them every Sunday for the next 6 weeks so i can surprise my family with them over the Christmas holidays.

    Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

