Wordly Wednesday – Slow Cooker FreeNut Butter Satay

I know I’ve mentioned Master O’s egg allergy before, but he is also allergic to nuts (specifically Cashews, Peanuts, Hazelnuts and Walnuts). It’s not a huge issue as far as changing habits in our household, but I must say, with A1 coming from a Dutch background, we do enjoy our Indonesian food – in particular, satay. It is the one thing I really missed when I got rid of our big jar of peanut butter that we had sitting in our pantry. A1 cooks a mean peanut satay. I wanted to blog it, but its one of those family secret recipe things with no specific amounts. I’m still working on getting it out of him!

Suffice to say, I was pretty excited when we were sent two Eskal products to review – Smooth and Crunchy FreeNut butter.

Eskal Freenut Butter

I love peanuts AND peanut butter. I was pretty skeptical when I heard about FreeNut butter (how on earth can sunflower seeds taste like peanuts?) but then a friend gave me a try (as her son has a nut allergy too) and I was impressed at how similar (and tasty) it was…

So we now have both the smooth and crunchy as a staple in our pantry. It really is uncannily like the real thing, I don’t feel like I am missing out. I also compared the nutritional information with a well-known peanut butter brand and was interested to see it was pretty similar as far as protein and energy, lower in saturated fat, slightly higher in sugar, but way, WAY lower in sodium, which is something that I try and keep in check with two young children! It is also dairy and gluten free.

The crunchy is the hands down favourite of the two in this household, it is slightly less crunchy than I’d like it to be, but since sunflower seeds are a fair bit smaller in size than a peanut I figure that is fair enough. I can deal with that to have a healthy alternative to peanut butter in our household!

Since I am yet to try and bully the family satay recipe off A1, I thought I would instead share a fabulous slow cooker satay recipe.We cook this alot and it is adapted from a recipe in Sally Wise’s book – Slow Cooker: Easy and delicious recipes for all seasons. If you do a lot of a slow-cooking, I highly recommend getting a copy.

Slow Cooker FreeNut Butter Satay

You’ll need…

Slow cooker satay ingredients

Slow cooker satay ingredients (minus the onion – it got left aside for the photo shoot – oops!)

2 large chicken breasts

2 garlic cloves – crushed

2 really heaped tablespoons of crunchy FreeNut Butter (or peanut butter for an allergy-free household)

3 tspn ketjap manis (Indonesian sweet soy sauce, if you don’t have this on hand you can just do 5 tspn in total of regular soy)

2 tspn soy sauce

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp tomato sauce

1 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

3/4 cup coconut milk

1 large brown onion – chopped

1 carrot – diced

Whatever other vegies you have on hand – I used 1/2 a red capsicum and a handful of green beans cut into kiddie-manageable size pieces. You could also use broccoli, baby corn, snow peas, mushrooms, pumpkin or sweet potatoes.

To make

  • Cut the chicken into small chunks and pop into the slow cooker with the crushed garlic and diced onion.
  • Add your chopped carrot (and if you are using any other very hard veggies add these now too).

Before the sauce

  • Mix the FreeNut/peanut butter, ketjap manis, soy, Worcestershire sauce, tomato sauce, sweet chilli, and the coconut milk until smooth.

Mix it up

  • Pour into the slow cooker and mix until everything is covered.

Satay sauce added

  • Pop the lid on and set your slow cooker to high for 4 hours (if you want to do an 8 hour cook, I’d probably cut your chicken chunkier or use chicken thighs instead.
  • I add the softer vegies and give the ingredients another stir when I am heading off to work (about an hour before dinner time).

Serve with rice or noodles. Makes enough for 2 adults & 2 kids.

Slow cooker freenut butter satay

* This is not a sponsored post, but we did receive some yummy FreeNut Butter for review (Master O was most impressed). All opinions expressed are my own.

Comments

  1. Oh I love a good satay. looks sensational.

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

