Pirate Girl Costume – On the Cheap and Very Cheerful – Aharrr!!

Ahaarrr me hearties!  You’ll be hearing correctly aharrr!  This Mama has a pirate costume to be makin’ in 3 days!!  Ahem. Sorry.  No more Pirate talk I promise:)

Miss N came home from school on Monday with an invite to her maties’ Pirate party on friday night. Needless to say I have issues:

Firstly – its a 6th Bday Party, at Hungry Jacks, at 5pm on a Friday night.  WT???? Maybe i’m not like normal parents but my girls are in bed by 6pm every night (or pretty close to it).  I really don’t see how friday evening is a good time for a kids’ party.  They are 6 not 16!!!

Secondly – how the hell was I suppost to come up with a suitable pirate costume in 3 days??  A “girly” Pirate Costume mind you – Miss N was VERY specific about that.  The hat had to be red and white spot. The skull and crossbones had to have a bow.

I spent a while trawling the net for piratey inspiration and got the idea for a cute pirate girl dress.  Miss N was happy and so was I, as she already had some things in her wardrobe. Black Knee Boots? Check! Red Tights? Check! All the other things I had to buy could be re-used later for normal purposes and so hardly any money was wasted.  So off I went to Kmart and the discount stores and had a good hunt and gather for the cheapest possible way to make what  she wanted.

I made a few design changes along the way as I needed to keep to the re-use idea and the budget (as less as possible).  I initially planned to sew the dress, however I would have had to purchase the black material I needed and that was going to be more than the cost of re-fashioning a cheapy item from the stores – so that won out in the end.

What I ended up with was:

A Toy Sword (make from foam so no nasty bruises to the other kids) – $3 and then given to the dress up bin.

A girls long sleeve white T Shirt – $4.  An absolute bargain and Miss N needed a new one anyway.

1 x Ladies size 8 black stretchy singlet – $5.  Mummy now gets a funky singlet after the party.

Skull & Crossbones Iron ons – Free

Red Spot Scarf for head kerchief thingo – $5.  Into Mum’s wardrobe it goes!

Pirate Eye Patch – free

About a metre of red belt cord type stuff (I’ve no idea what its called – sorry! Its sort of like flat woven braid.  The type of thing belts are made of??) – $.39c/mtre

Firstly, I attached the skull & crossbones picture to some white scrap material and cut around it.  I then used some Heat N Bond to make it into an Iron On transfer.     This was then stuck on to the bottom corner of the black singlet top – our “dress”.  I then went over the top with a black permenant marker and added the detail. I coloured in the pink bow with a highlighter.  For some strange reason my Heat N Bond didn’t actually Heat or Bond (no idea what happened there) so in the end I had to quickly run around the edges of the appliqué with black cotton straight stitch.  It looks a bit dodgy, however adds (in a strange way) to the whole rough n ready pirate look – so it was all OK:)

Next I made an eye patch with some other black scrap material and some 1/2inch w black elastic.  I cut x 2 of the template shown here, and sewed straight stitch around the ages with the elastic in between.

Lastly, I threaded the strip of belt material through the belt buckle and used it as a sash around the waist of the dress.  I didn’t stitch this on, I just tied it at the back in a bow.  BTW – I know its wrong in the picture!  Took me a few goes to figure out how it worked:)

So – me matey’s!  That is how its done.  Fast, Easy, Cheap and totally recyclable!  Move Over Jack Sparrow!

P.S – What Shivers at the bottom of the Ocean?  A Nervous Wreck!

P.P.S – Why did the Pirate cross the road?   To get to his carrrr!

Comments

  1. Love it! Miss N looks mighty piratey!

    To err is human, to arrrrr is Pirate…

  2. I love it. I just found out about an event going on this saturday that I am going to take my 2 yr old daughter to and i came across this page while I was searching for ideas for a home made pirate costume for her. I dont think she will leave the eye patch on but the rest will work. How did you make the sword ??

    • Aha! (Aharrrr!) Julie I cheated! I bought the sword for $2 from my local variety store. It was made of spongy material so not quite so dangerous!
      I’m sure toy stores etc would have cheap ones too.
      Enjoy the party!
      D

  3. This is great, thank you. My daughter has World Book Day next week and they need to be dressed as pirates, so this is perfect 🙂 x

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

