Worldly Wednesday – Chicken wonton noodle soup (for the soul)…

I’m feeling a bit under the weather at the moment (everybody say awww…) What I’d love is a pile of good books, my bed and the electric blanket for a couple of days. However duty (kids/A1/work) still beckons and so I soldier on – as Mum’s do. So this week I wanted a truly comforting food for when you are feeling sick. But the kids need to enjoy eating it to, so we need to add a fun factor to it. I trawled Taste looking for the answer. well actually, when I say trawled, I typed in chicken wonton soup and found this recipe in a matter of seconds. I’d made it before so I knew it was yummy and easy! I figured if I blogged it then I’ll have a copy of the recipe and I wont need to search for it any more. As per usual I’ve tweaked it a little!

So here is some chicken soup to soothe your soul/throat/cold/flu/kids…

Chicken Wonton Noodle Soup (recipe from Taste.com.au – serves 4

You’ll need…

4 cups salt-reduced chicken stock

2 carrots, peeled, cut into matchsticks

2cm piece fresh ginger, finely grated (I used the gourmet garden tube stuff)

1/4 cup salt-reduced soy sauce

125g Trident rice-stick noodles (we used a pack of udon – nice and easy for the kids to slurp or pick up)

3 green onions, thinly sliced

I also added and a piece of bok choy (or pac choy or choy sum – not sure which, just one of those chinese cabbagey thingies that I had in the fridge) and a handful of chopped green beans and snow peas. Basically anything I had laying around in the fridge that I needed to use…

For the chicken wontons you’ll need…

200g lean chicken mince

3 green onions, thinly sliced

2cm piece fresh ginger, finely grated (again with the gourmet garden)

1 garlic clove, crushed

20 wonton wrappers

1 egg, lightly beaten (I just used water since Master O is allergic)

I also added in some very finely diced carrot

Ingredients

To make the wontons

  • Combine mince, onion, ginger and garlic in a bowl.

Making wontons - step 1

Making wontons - step 2

Making wontons - step 3

Making wontons - step 4

Making wontons - et voila

To make the soup

  • Place stock, carrot and 4 cups cold water in a saucepan over high heat. Bring to the boil.
  • Reduce heat to medium. Simmer for 5 to 7 minutes or until carrot is tender.
  • Add ginger, soy sauce, noodles and wontons. At this point, I also added my beans, snow peas and the chopped stalky bits of my bok choy stuff. Simmer for 5 minutes or until wontons are cooked through.
  • I then added in the leafy bit of bok choy, it will wilt really quickly.
  • Serve topped with onions (and if you are coriander addicted like me, that too and some cracked pepper).

The kids loved it ,and I’m feeling warm and comforted – winner!

Asian wonton noodle soup

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

