Easy fruit snacks – yum!

20120701-213906.jpg

Pinterest how I love thee…

I came across a pin for this Fruit Snacks blog post from Six Sister’s Stuff blog the other day. Being Australian, I hadn’t tried the fruit snacks they we’re talking about, but I figured since I had the ingredients I’d give it a go, what did I have to lose (aside from a pack of jelly) and what do you know? They worked! I’ve since made another three batches. I don’t like jelly much, the consistency makes my tummy turn, but I love these, they are kind of like a cross between jelly snakes and jubes…

So here is the Australian version!

You’ll need:
A mold – I had a silicon star ice cube tray from Ikea – though I’m looking for a smaller one now, so it makes ‘more’
1 pack of jelly (I used the 25% less sugar, natural colours & flavours one)
3 teaspoons of powdered gelatin
1/3 cup cold water

20120701-212508.jpg

To make:

  • Pop your water in a small saucepan/pot
  • Pour over your jelly crystals and gelatin
  • 20120701-212634.jpg

  • Heat over a medium heat. Stir until all the gelatin is dissolved. I then crank it up until it is just boiling for about 20 seconds. I personally think it makes the jelly clearer
  • 20120701-213406.jpg

  • Pour into your mold and leave to set. I pop it in the fridge to speed up the process, but it’s really quick, only an hour or two in the fridge
  • Remove from mold carefully, you may need to slip a knife between the mold to loosen the jellies
  • Store in an airtight container…
  • 20120701-213546.jpg
    The mix is quite sticky, but they are fine once they have firmed up. They have a really similar texture to the chai masala jellies that Mixotrophy made for the ‘Tea’ Sweet Adventures Blog Hop– however, these are kid (and Mummy & Daddy) friendly!

20120701-214116.jpg

20120701-214125.jpg

Comments

  1. Ooh these look yum! I shall be trying them armed with my heart shaped ikea ice tray! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • I think they would look gorgeous in the heart molds – we had one of those at some stage too, but it has disappeared in one of our various moves. Let me know how they go for you!

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

