Wordly Wednesday – Creamy Comfort Food Tuna Pasta Bake

I had Tuna Pasta Bake on my meal plan for yesterday and as I’ve said before I’ve never been able to recreate one that the kids like more than the supermarket jar variety. So when Master O went down for his nap, I went to the pantry to retrieve tuna, pasta, and said jar of sauce. But oh the horror (!!) in my super-efficient grocery planning, I had made one vital error – no jar of tuna bake sauce.

A-googling I go, and found this Taste one which seemed ok, but I wasn’t keen on the tomato paste and also wanted to add a few things. Away I went, adding here and there and end result ‘looked’ good. I didn’t taste it cause I don’t like tuna (a good reason to be heading off to work before dinner)…

I got home from work and got the two thumbs up from hubby – kids liked it and it’s apparently better than the jar – woohoo!

So here it is, it makes enough for 2 adults and two toddlers in our household…

Creamy Comfort Food Tuna Pasta Bake

You’ll need
250gm of pasta spirals
1 tablespoon of butter (I used unsalted as with the kids I prefer to add my own salt at the table if required)
1 small diced onion
1 clove of garlic, finely chopped or crushed
300ml cream
Herbs – whatever suits you, I used what I had on hand which was a small sprig each of rosemary and thyme (finely chopped) and two decent squirts of gourmet garden basil and parsley
1 x 425g can tuna in oil (drained)
2 tablespoons of finely grated Parmesan
1/2 cup frozen peas
1 handful of baby spinach
1 cup grated tasty cheese
1 slice of bread (I usually have ends frozen for this purpose)
Cracked pepper to taste

Creamy tuna pasta bake ingredients

Get Cooking!

  • Preheat oven to 190°C
  • Cook the pasta in a large saucepan of boiling water until al dente. Drain and return to pot

Cooking pasta

  • Meanwhile, heat the butter in a non-stick frying pan over a medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook until softened. Add the cream and stir until combined

Base ingredients

  • Stir through the herbs, tuna and parmesan and season with cracked pepper
  • Add frozen peas

Now with peas

  • Pour it all over your pasta and add the baby spinach (at this point I added a big dash of milk because Master O woke screaming from his very short nap and I had to resettle him and so the sauce had reduced a bit much. See how it goes, if it is a bit thick, it will be fine to add some milk in)
  • Stir to combine

Pasta bake filling

  • Pop your bread into a food processor and whiz into crumbs
  • Pour the mix into to a large ovenproof dish and sprinkle with cheese/breadcrumbs and for an extra herby hit you could add either dry mixed herbs or any leftover herbs you may have from earlier

Ready to bake

  • Bake for 15 minutes or until the cheese is melted and bread crumbs are a golden brown
  • Enjoy!

Creamy tuna pasta baked

I’m not buying the jar mix again. This took only a few minutes longer to prepare and was so much fresher!

Comments

  1. This looks yummy! I need a good tuna bake recipe. It is a great way to get kids to eat fish (better than the fish fingers I usually give them). If you have time please link this up to the Weekend Cookbook this weekend.

  2. dannijh says:

    Right Mel. I made this tonight, its in the oven as we speak. Looking good so far! D

  3. I had an awesome home made fish fingers recipe somewhere Lisa, but have been unable to locate it – will have to look again.
    D – how did it go?

Trackbacks

  1. […] Three Mon: Beef Tacos Tues: Tuna Pasta Bake with Garden Salad Wed: Chicken, Buckwheat & Millet Risotto Thurs: Prawn, Watercress & Baby […]

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

