Worldly Wednesday – No Bowl Choc Bit Slice

Today’s WW Post comes to you from the Womens’ Weekly Simple Slices mini cookbook.  Its one of my own personal favourites due to the fact you can mix and match pretty much any ingredients you wish to make your slice.  Its perfect for when you need something fast and have next to nothing in the cupboard!

YOU NEED:

90g melted butter

100g (1 cup, or about 11) plain sweet biscuits – smashed into crumbs

1 1/2 cups choc bits

1 cup shredded coconut

1 cup crushed mixed nuts

395g can sweetened condensed milk

Now.  I take GREAT liberties with the choc bits, coconut & nuts in this recipe.  For instance. today I used oats and choc bits only as that’s all I had.  Other days I’ve used rice bubbles, sultanas, nuts, m&m’s….yadda yadda the list goes on.  Trust me when I tell you, you can pretty much put anything in this slice!!

THE HOW TO:

This recipe lives up to its no-bowl name a treat!

Preheat oven to moderate (180 degrees C);

Line a 26cm square tin with baking paper;

Pour in your melted butter and sprinkle evenly with the biscuit crumbs;

Then, follow suit with whatever you are using (coconut, choc bits etc etc);

Drizzle can of condensed milk evenly over the whole thing;

Bake in a moderate oven for abot 30 mins.

Let cool in the pan before removing and cutting into bite size peices.

Makes about 18

Perfect with a cuppa – Cheers!

Comments

  1. I usually am pretty pleased when I make a one-bowl recipe–but a no-bowl recipe is even better! I’m going to have to up my standards. 🙂

  2. dannijh says:

    Aha! Agreed:) lol.

  3. I was just speaking to a friend about cooking biscuits with condensed milk. I have some in the pantry and might give this a go with the girls tomorrow. They will be sad there is no bowl to lick though 🙂

  4. Loved your recipe, its very detailed! =)

  5. Made this for Miss 3’s party last weekend and have been asked for the recipe. The no bowl thing inspired me! Was so yummy.

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

