Hey There Cupcake – What’s Your Flavour?

Today I have been baking for Himself’s Bday and whilst up to my elbows in sections of Black Forest Cake (more on that later) I figured I should make myself a treat (as you do).  Mini cupcakes in flavours of all sorts!!!      I’ve been so good these last months not having lots of unhealthy stuff and goddamit! I now just feel like some!  So out came the piping bag and my brain went a little silly trying to think of some funky flavours to incorporate with buttercream.

My basic cupcake recipe origionally came from the “Marie Claire Kitchen” book, however I have found over the years that it doesn’t really matter if you have a little more butter, no caster sugar – just regular, a little less flour or only have a splash of milk left to add…this recipe is pretty forgiving!!!

WHAT YOU NEED:

Preheat Oven to 180 Deg C and line your cupcake trays with papers.

Beat 175g softened butter with 175g caster sugar till pale and creamy

Add 3 eggs and 1 x teaspoon natural vanilla extract.  Stir to combine.

Add in 125ml milk and mix well.

Fold in 175g Self Raising Flour

Spoon the batter into your baking cups and bake for approx 10- 15 mins for mini and 15 – 20 for regular size cupcakes.

Today I used the mini size as I think they are cute:)  Also due to the fact I am product testing for Utopian Delights and needed to try out these super funky disposable cardboard cupcake trays.  Super Awesome!

When it came time for icing, I grabbed my trusty piping nozzles and home made disposable piping bags (following on from last week and me waxing lyrical about my vacuum sealing machine – I must just add that it makes FANTASTIC piping bags!!!) and got a squirting:) hehe.  What I ended up with was:

Peppermint

Peanut Butter

Coffee Cream

Chocolate Chilli

Rasperry Ripple

Its not so bad if one just has cupcakes for dinner….is it??

Comments

  1. Yum yum yum to all of them!

  2. dannijh says:

    There is still plenty here too! I DO tend to always over-cater! LOL

Trackbacks

  1. […] For the Cakes (1 x vanilla and 1 x chocolate) I used my tried and true cupcake recipe adapted for the addittion of chocolate and an 8″ tin.  I figured if I could make a smaller diameter but taller tower of Black Forest Loveliness, it would look super spectacular..!  You can check out that recipe from my cupcake post last Wed HERE. […]

  2. […] have used my own tried and true cupcake recipe and tried to match the decorations as best I could with things found in my local supermarket.  I […]

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

