Refashion Passion

I have spent a little time lately “doing over” a few hand me downs.

Refashioning is just a funky way of updating things you already have so they can be utilised and not chucked.  We are very lucky and get a lot of hand-me-downs for the girls.  I am a BIG lover of kids hand me downs!  Most little ones go through clothes so fast its great to have a constant supply of new things.  Not just as they grow out of them so quickly, also to ensure a good load of “play clothes”.  You know the type – the ones that have already been through the mill so its not a big deal if they get spilled on, messed up or generally roughed about.  Especially handy for PreSchool/Daycare.

One such item I gave an upcycle this week is this great little sleepsuit.  Its been freezing at our place lately and Miss Z has a bad habit of kicking off her covers of a night, so things like this are fabulous!  The emblem on it was kind of boyish and not really our cup of tea, so I thought a little Heat N Bond action was in order!

My mum found this super cute Owl patch and picked it up for us – score!  Thanks Mum:)  I added some fabric scraps from my own bag and crafted up this cute little design.  The Heat & Bond I own is not the sew over type, if it was I would have done some decorative stitching around the hearts, however I’ve already broken one sewing machine needle lately and I wasn’t wanting to try for two!

So, what we end up with for a grand total of 10mins work is now much more girly and still useful.  I’m sure Miss Z will be thanking me tonight!

Comments

  1. Hi,

    I’ve started My Sweet Party, where I every month host a party with a theme (MAY theme is CHOCOLATE). The party is ongoing the entire duration of the month and then I will choose my top three favourites and feture those blogs. I would LOVE you to join My Sweet Party!

    http://meandmysweets.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/my-sweet-party-chocolate-cake-love.html

    XXX
    Johanna

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

