Worldly Wednesday – Nanna Ollie’s Scones

Who doesn’t love scones? I do, and both my Nan’s knew it and would have a batch at the ready  (along with a big warm hug) when I came to visit. One Nan is still sprightly and bright and bakes a huge amount of cakes and biscuits every week to sell at her church (the money raised goes to missions and those in need around the world). She amazes me with her energy – and I really need to go and write down her recipes too…

Today I attended the funeral of a dear friends Dad. It was a loving celebration of his life and his stories and it reminded me a lot of the funeral of my other Nan, Ollie. Her funeral was also a celebration funeral, a telling of stories. Her birthday would have been last week. Her first birthday after she passed away, Miss E and I made a batch of scones in memory of her. From all the photos on Facebook at the time, I didn’t seem to be the only one in my family who thought the same thing, there were batches of Nanna Ollie’s scones cropping up everywhere.

After talking to my Aunt today, I found out that this is not her original recipe, but this is the recipe she used as she got a bit older and this was easier for her to whip up quickly. This recipe was handed out to everyone at her funeral, which I thought was an awesome way of not only remembering her, but spreading the love. I have such strong memories of walking into her place (wherever she was living at the time) and smelling freshly baked scones and seeing them waiting (wrapped in a tea towel) on the bench. She’d always pack a few away for me to take home when we left. I hope I do this for my grandkids!

So here they are, not healthy – but tasty and easy, a great one for the kids to help with, using a cutter to cut out the rounds and brushing the tops with milk.

Painting scones

Miss E making Nan-nan Ollie’s scones

They do need to be close together on the tray or they don’t rise properly. And don’t overwork the dough…

Nanna Ollie’s Scones
1 Cup Lemonade
1 Cup Cream
3 Cups SR Flour

  • Preheat oven to 220 degrees Celsius.
  • Prepare a baking tray.
  • Mix all the ingredients gently and pat down on lightly floured board.
  • Cut with a round cutter and brush tops with milk.
  • Bake until golden.
  • Serve up to those you love with lashings of jam (and more cream), or just butter.

And this is my gorgeous Nan, with Miss E as a baby.

Ollie and E

Ollie and a very little Miss E


Ollie loved kids. She had her own children (7), grandchildren, great children, and great-great children when she passed away. She loved us all. She was the absolute matriarch of the family, strong, resilient (Pop died when I was little – 2 I think, and she never re-married) and loving with a story to tell about all of us. I’ll share my story that she told about me. I remember this so strongly, but to be honest, I don’t know whether it is my memories or just memories developed from her story-telling.

Nan was staying at our place and was in the backyard hanging clothes on the line while I was playing. I call her over – “Nan, Nan! Look!” So she walks over only to get told off by me “Careful Nan, you nearly squashed the babies!” She’s thinking, what babies, I can’t see a thing, then I point out a wood slater (you know those grey things that look kind of like a bug version of an armadillo that can roll themselves up into little armoured balls?) and sure enough, this little bug  is giving birth to thousands lots of title tiny translucent babies. She always used to say, “Well I never, only Nina-May (family pet name for me) would have found something like that…”

Do you have a family story or a recipe to share – maybe you’ve already blogged about it before? Post a comment, and tell us your story – or pop in a link to a family story or recipe, we’d love to read it/taste it.

We still love you Nan!

Olive

We’re linking up with Mummy’s Undeserved Blessings for her Weekend Cookbook. Head on over for some weekend inspiration (and linkup too!)

Comments

  1. library geek in training says:

    Beautifully Said Nina-May…..love our nanna and love that you have those fond memories of her. You got it so right about the scones lying wrapped in a towel on her bench. No one can make them quite like she did.

    Although I don’t have a cassette recorder anymore I do have a tape that she made my family singing to us. Something I will always treasure.

    Love you guys
    Alli

  2. kathryn says:

    Hi, just found your blog and have loved every recipe so far I’ve seen. (Trying your sausage rolls tonight). My husband is from England and we’re wondering if the lemonade is the fizzy kind like he’s used to or the non-fizzy kind like we have here in the USA? I’d love to make these! Thanks so much:)

    • Hi Kathryn, thanks so much for your lovely comments – what a multicultural couple you are!!
      The lemonade is indeed the fizzy kind – it gives the scones lift and makes them incredibly light. Just be sure to space them very close together on the tray (only a few mm apart – just realised the picture with Miss E is not the best example as that was from a while ago and they were too far apart!) and only mix it until the dough comes together and is combined. Overworking will kill the lightness in it.
      Enjoy!

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

