Worldly Wednesday – Potato Pinwheels

Potato Pinwheels

One of Life’s easy meals!  Pinwheels are a great snack or appetiser and are a great way of using up leftovers.   The binder ingredient in this dish is the mash, and you can use just about anything in it to make a tasty meal.    Think Thai flavours with tuna, Italian with beef or even Indian curry puff inspired pinwheels…oh yeah!  Today however, I’m using leftover roast and making a yummy Roast Chicken version.

YOU WILL NEED:

Mashed Potatoes, cooled (about 2 cups)  I actually used leftover roasties, which do the same job!

3 x puff pastry sheets

1 x egg for brushing the pastry

1 x cup chopped roast chicken

1/2 cup peas

1/2 cup gravy

1 x clove garlic, crushed

pinch of thyme

THE HOW TO:

Add your ingredients to your mash and mix well until all comined.  Be careful not to add too much liquid as you don’t want it to become too mushy.  (I stuck mine in the food processor, due to the roasties so I could ensure a fine and even texture).

Divide the mixture into 3 and spread out on a pastry sheet with the back of a spoon.  ensure you leave a little space round the edges.

I promise it tastes better than it looks!

Carefully roll up your pinwheel, place on an oven tray lined with baking paper and brush with a little egg wash.

Bake in a Moderately hot oven (180 – 200 Deg C) for approx 20 mins or until the tops are golden and flaky.

Serve with a side salad for a cheap and cheerful meal!

Comments

  1. Looks really amazing and I am sure that it tastes delightful. However I am certain that will my modest culinary skills it will cost me hell of a labor to achieve this perfect result. Anyway, I am trying the recipe this evening and I’ll let you know about the outcome of this high-class cookery battle! Wish me luck! 🙂

  2. A tasty meal with not much hustle and bustle, and with even using some of the leftovers I have, sounds like a great idea to me!Not to mention that hearing about adding my all-time fav seasoning- the Indian curry, is simply making me willing to try the receipt right away! Thanks for sharing! Will let you know how came out!

  3. those look interesting! Love the fact that google has a dieting ad at the bottom of the post of a yummy recipe.. hehe 🙂
    found you via Weekend Cookbook

  4. This looks like a yummy way to use up left overs..great idea!

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

