Worldly Wednesday – Crumbed Chicken with Pear & Saffron Chutney Sauce

I recently made a batch of Pear & Saffron Chutney, one jar of which I will be entering to my local show in a few weeks to keep my Grand Champion Chutney Maker reputation alive (here’s hoping!).

Today’s recipe is something I just thought would taste nice so I made it up.  I tend to do this a lot with my cooking!  (Trust Me, its fine).  One day soon I will show you how I make the chutney, but for now I will show you what you can do with it, which should get your mouth watering!!

If you wanted to make this recipe before that time, I’m sure you could easily switch out the chutney for some other flavour.  Just make sure it works well with chicken!

CRUMBED CHICKEN WITH PEAR & SAFFRON CHUTNEY SAUCE

Ingredients:

1kg Chicken thighs or breast fillets

1 x cup breadcrumbs

1/2 cup crushed pine nuts (optional)

a good handful chopped fresh thyme leaves

1 x 250ml jar Pear & Saffron Chutney

2 x eggs, beaten

1 x cup flour

vegetable oil, to fry

THE HOW-TO

Put a large pan on med heat to warm up

Mix your breadcrumbs, crushed nuts & thyme

Flatten out your chicken peices and if necc, cut incicions in each to help ensure they are a similar thickness all along

Dip in the flour to coat, then the beaten egg, then the breadcrumb, thyme and pine nut mixture

Place in the hot oil and cook till the chicken is done and the crumbs are golden.  Drain on kitchen paper.

Drain 99% of the leftover oil, turn heat off and add in the Chutney.  Mix for a moment and put the chicken back into the pan for a minute or two.

Serve on a mound of creamy potato mash.  I know this may not look like the most presentable dish out however I promise you, it tastes devine!

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

