Worldly Wednesday – Apricot & Almond Crumble

This week’s Worldly Wednesday recipe is simple to make, is comforting and delicious and makes wonderful use of current seasonal produce.

I’m taking my choice from the Maggie’s Harvest cookbook in my mini cookbook collection.

Maggie's Harvest

I love Maggie Beer, she seems like such a sweetheart! Anyway, this was really easy to make, but A1 doesn’t really like cooked fruits and Miss E isn’t a fan of stone fruit really so Master O and I had a grand time consuming it!

I had less than half the amount of apricots required – we got a heap of lovely ones from Dad’s tree but they were so yummy we kept eating them! I just used a smaller dish, I had a little of the crumble mix left over but I used most of it – I love lots of crumble…

Apricot and Almond Crumble Serves 4

30 large ripe apricots, halved and stoned
Sugar, for sprinkling
60g flaked almonds, lightly roasted

CRUMBLE
125g flour
100g sugar
100g ground almonds
175g butter

  • Preheat the oven to 200oC.
  • Arrange the apricot halves in a shallow glass or enamelled baking dish (I used a regular baking dish, not glass or enamel, still turned out fine). Sprinkle with sugar.

Apricots

  • Mix the crumble ingredients together in a bowl, rubbing in the butter with your fingers (best to make sure your butter is chilled and as you can see my butter was too soft, so I ended up with big chunks of crumble rather than fine crumbs, but it didn’t affect the taste). Spread over the fruit and sprinkle with flaked almonds.

Adding the crumble and almonds

  • Bake for about 30 minutes. Be careful not to burn the flaked almonds – cover with foil or lower the temperature if necessary. Serve warm with cream or ice cream.

Seriously this is just so easy to make… 5-10 minutes of prep and it’s in the oven. Then you just need to eat and enjoy!

Apricot and Almond Crumble

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

