Death by Chocolate blog hop

I’m so excited to be joining in Sweet Adventure’s Death by Chocolate Blog Hop… We joined in on the first Pavlova Blog Hop (check out our entry here), but I missed out on the second as it was pretty hectic around Christmas time. So I was determined to link up with some deliciousness this time around!

I was racking my brains to think of a good recipe – originally I was thinking of ultra gooey Macadamia & Choc-Chip Brownies, but I had already blogged about them and it needed to be a new post.

Then I came across this bargain – a whole box of (albeit shortdated) Green & Blacks Organic White Chocolate for $6.50…. I know white chocolate isn’t considered ‘proper’ chocolate, but seriously, this stuff is divine!

Green & Blacks Organic White Chocolate

So I started thinking about white chocolate recipe ideas, and here we have it…

Individual White Chocolate & Raspberry Puddings
1 cup plain flour
1 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup raw sugar (I use macro organic raw sugar which is quite fine, if you can’t find a fine raw sugar, use caster sugar)
100g white chocolate, finely chopped
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 egg
60g butter, melted, cooled
1 cup frozen raspberries

White Chocolate Sauce
1/2 cup caster sugar
2 teaspoons cornflour
1 1/4 cups milk
120g white chocolate, finely chopped

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease 5 ramekins and place on a baking tray.
  • Sift flour and baking powder into a large bowl. Add sugar and chocolate
  • Whisk buttermilk, egg and butter together. Add to flour mixture. Fold to combine.
  • If you remember (unlike me) fold in raspberries – otherwise just poke them into the mix once you have spooned the mixture into the ramekins.

Pop raspberries into the pudding mix

Sauce method

  • Combine sugar and cornflour in a bowl. Sprinkle over puddings.
  • Combine milk and chocolate in a small saucepan. Stir over medium heat until chocolate is melted and mixture is hot.
  • Gently pour over the back of a large metal spoon, onto the pudding mix.
  • Bake until golden or until a skewer inserted halfway into pudding comes out clean – usually around 30 minutes. Serve immediately if you want a saucy pudding, or leave until cool for a moist, gooey cake. Either way – delish!

White Chocolate and Raspberry Individual Puddings
Now head on over to The Hungry Australian (click on the image below) and check out the other delicious chocolate entries!

SABH_Death by Chocolate Blog Hop

Comments

  1. These look delicious… white chocolate and raspberries are a lovely combination!

    • Oh boy – I LOVE Green & Black’s White Chocolate. It’s one of the best I’ve ever come across. Apart from the buttermilk I have all these ingredients in my larder so could make this whenever a chocolate craving hits. Could I substitute buttermilk with normal milk do you think? So glad you were able to make this Death by Chocolate bloghop!

      • Hi Christina – yes you could substitute for regular milk and add an additional teaspoon of baking powder 🙂

        I actually went back and bought another box (15 packs) of the chocolate!

        And thanks for hosting 🙂

    • I agree – its my most favourite dessert combination ever… Love raspberries, love white chocolate!

  2. Most heartily agree – white chocolate and raspberries are bliss (the creaminess and the fruitiness just go so well together). Heaven in a ramekin. Just beautiful.

  3. White chocolate and raspberries, love the combination. I think I would let my pudding cool down so I could enjoy it moist and gooey. 🙂

  4. Buy another box and post it to me!

    Made puddings tonight but milk choc and blueberry as that’s what we have in the fridge. Added 2tbs of cocoa powder to the mix too. Also considering some white chocolate with butterscotch sause too. Mmmmmmmm.

    • Did they work out ok Lisa? I love blueberry and chocolate too – another delicious combo! I’m more than happy to grab a box and send it up to you! Even with postage it would still be cheaper than buying them all desperately. Only thing is they are short-dated, but hey it’s chocolate!

  5. I agree these look absolutely delicious. I’m new to blogging and was just wondering how you get to be part of a blog hop???

    • Thanks 🙂

      Basically it’s a matter of following/reading other blogs and keeping an eye out for them…
      This one closed on Monday, but if you want to participate in their next one, head over to http://sweetadventuresbloghop.com/ which is where they post details of their next hop.
      I hope that helps! But my best advice is to look around and different blogs, follow ones that are similar to your interests and you’ll invariably come across them…

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

