Let Them Eat Cake! (Or at least, tell them how to make it)

Yes, I know Marie Antoinette didn’t ACTUALLY say that (we have to love historical chinese whispers). However I must admit its one of my favourite quotes of all time.    Coming up to Christmas this year ive been totally wiped out and very busy.  Amongst other things, my sideline hobby businessUtopian Delights had it’s last order of the year and after carving out a pretty funky Miffy Cake, I was left with a stack of chocolate mud and no idea what to do with it.

Cake Pops have done their dash and truffles were just too difficult given my lack of fridge space and the amount of cake I had to use.  I sat and had a think and came up with a few ideas I thought were not too diffucult and/or time consuming.

  • Trifle. GROSS. I HATE Trifle – so how about No??!!
  • Chocolate & Cinnamon French Toast?  A maybe for Xmas morning?
  • Chocolate Pudding.
  • Chocolate Custard Baked Pudding??
  • Ice Cream, Cake and Caramel Sauce.  A long-time favourite in my family.  Normally we have vanilla cake but chocolate might be a nice change?
  • Ooh…chocolate cake, ice cream and Peanut Butter Fudge Sauce with extra peanuts on top!!!!  A version of Nigella Lawson’s classic which Himself gets all excited about.. (We do have LOTS of cake…)
  • Chocolate Lamington slices.  Oh Yes.  I think we have a winner!    These will work well as we have loads of events coming up (Xmas, Family get togethers and Baptism Parties) at which a plate of these may go down quite nicely.  They will also freeze exceptionally well so will be great for lunchbox treats for Himself and Miss N.

CHOCOLATE LAMINGTON SLICES:                 THE HOW-TO!!

All I did was take the squarish chunks of cake, trim them into even shapes and then slice up evenly.

Next I mixed up some icing Sugar, Cocoa, Butter and Boiling Water and make a nice runny mixture.

I found a plate and tipped out some shredded coconut (just for your info I ended up using about a half a big bag)

Then…Dip and roll!  lay on a lined tray and popped in the freezer to firm up for about 10 mins.

From there they went straight into a tupperware lined with greaseproof paper with extra sheets between the layers.

We still have half a large size ziplock bag of cake to use up so I may end up making my Version of Nigella’s Peanut Butter Fudge Sauce for some of the rest….Then I think we may STILL have cake to use up!

Comments

  1. Mmm these look unique!

  2. yum! thanks for sharing!

  3. no worries! they tasted pretty nice too:)

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

