Worldly Wednesday – Misty Mushroom Salad

I was looking through my plethora of cookbooks this week and came up with this little beauty.  It’s a totally daggy 1970’s Family Circle “Fabulous Salads” number, complete with super daggy photography all very badly styled.  Donna Hay would be horrified!!

It does, however hold a couple of stunner salads.  The Misty Mushroom I had not tried before however despite its name, it sounded OK and I DID have a stack of mushrooms to use up, so I thought we would give it a go…

Dressing:

1/2 cup natural yoghurt

1/2 cup good quality mayo

2 tablespoons cream

75g blue cheese (the bluer you go, the stronger the dressing flavour.  I used Costello as it all I could get)

To make your dressing, it says to pop all your ingredients in a food processor and blitz until smooth.

Yes Yes, of course I was following the instructions to the absolute letter..

Salad:

500g button mushrooms, halved

2 celery sticks, sliced

2 tablespoons chopped chives

35g rocket leaves (who in their right mind would weigh out rocket leaves I have NO idea…)

2 tablespoons chopped walnuts

Wipe your mushrooms, cut each in half and place in a bowl with celery and half the chives.  Add some of the dressing (not too much, I found the amount of dressing WAYYY too much for this dish..) and toss gently to combine.

Arrange the rocket leaves in a large pretty bowl (pfffft!) and spoon the mushroom mixture in.  Sprinkle with chopped walnuts and the rest of the chives.

Now. I hate blue cheese. With a passion. However I can eat it when mixed in cheesy pasta sauce and I must admit it was pretty nice in this dressing too, not sure how I would go if I had used a Roaring Fourties instead though…

Miss N and I combined this with some grilled chicken breast fillets.  It was a really nice and light combination and really quick to make too.

N.B.  Himself had some for his lunch the next day and said it was “past its best”.  I would say that’s probably due to the mushrooms soaking up all the dressing and probably getting a tad mushy, so my tip would be to make it as you need it, and not before.

Comments

  1. I think even I could do I better job of styling than that first image…
    Sounds yummy though!

  2. On the subject of mushroom dishes, made a great one the other night, ‘Easy crumbed mushrooms’

    8 medium mushrooms, quartered
    1tbs butter
    olive oil
    salt and pepper
    1/2 tbs rosemary
    1/4 cup LSA mix

    Fry mushrooms off in butter over medium heat in a non stick pan until butter is melted and absorbed.
    Add rosemary to pan and dry fry for a bit, add salt and pepper.
    Turn up heat and add 1tbs oil then sprinke LSA mix and stir through til all mushrooms coated. Fry for a bit longer until coating has gone a bit crispy, adding a touch more oil if required.

  3. OK, that sounds good…I might be making that one too!! D

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

