Squirmy, wormy Halloween treat…

Yesterday Miss E had a group playdate with her bestie, Miss L who happens to be half Canadian. So we decided (in the name of cultural exchange) to have a Halloween playdate. The kiddies got to dress up in costumes and we all brought along a treat to share.

As per usual, I had grand plans. This saw me spending the morning in the kitchen trying vainly to make three items which all required setting/chilling time in the fridge before I had to leave at 12:30. I was planning on making chocolate crackle spiders, jelly worms on a biscuit soil and ghostly oreo cookie truffles.

Suffice to say because I was rushing it all went wrong. The piped chocolate legs for the spiders kept breaking off, so I decided to pipe white chocolate on and make creepy faces instead. The truffle mix which I’d never made before was just way too sticky which meant I couldn’t roll in into smooth balls and once covered with white chocolate, looked like misshapen, unappetising lumps. I didn’t even bother putting ghost faces on them. In fact, I was so disgusted in their appearance I didn’t even take them to the playdate.

The worms, which I was so excited about would have worked perfectly – if I had remember to stretch out the bendy straws. They still worked in the end, but weren’t perfect and weren’t set in time to take with me. Regardless, I set them out when I got home and they looked the best out of everything, so without further ado, edible worms…

Jelly worms

I found out how to do them via the Instructables website. I love this site!

What you need

  • 2 packs of raspberry jelly (or another red flavour. I used the aeroplane jelly natural colours/flavours one)
  • 3/4 cup thickened cream
  • 3 cups of boiling water
  • 15 drops of green food colouring
  • Enough bendy straws to fill your container. They suggest 100 – I used 80, which didn’t jam pack the container, but I bunched them together using a rubber band (just take care that its not tight, you don’t want the straws squashed in even slightly). In the picture above, there is about 60 worms.
  • A tall one litre container
  • 3/4 of a pack of choc ripple (or similar) biscuits

How to make them

  1. Pop the jelly and boiling water in a bowl, stir to combine. Allow to cool.
  2. Once the jelly mix has cooled to lukewarm, add the cream & food colouring. Stir it in.
  3. Get all your straws (if they aren’t a snug fit, pop a rubber band around them), make sure the bendy bits are fully stretched out. Pop them in the container, with the end closest to the bendy part of the straw facing down. Pour the jelly/cream mix over the straws/into the container. I made sure that there was a bit of straw sticking out of the mix, this makes it easier when removing the worm from the straw.
  4. Chill until set. Mine took a good 4 hours or so.
  5. In the meantime pop your biscuits in a food processor or blender and grind  until it is fine and crumbly and resembles soil. Pop onto your serving dish.
  6. To remove the worm from the straw, I pinch the end of the straw that has been sticking out of the top of the container and with the other hand I gently squeeze and slowly push down the straw to encourage the wormies to exit their home!  I do this straight into the serving dish with the biscuit ‘soil’. you could also do little individual serves in small cups.
  7. Serve up and gross out the kidies, workmates, family etc.

Aside from Halloween, which most of us don’t really follow here in Australia, these would be great for a garden or dirt themed birthday cake.

For more great ideas with jelly, check out our Jelly Fruit Snacks and Jelly Playdough posts…

We’re also linking up with A Dose of Dannie for her Halloween blog hop. Head on over for more Halloween ideas here

Comments

  1. Oh wow! They look so amazingly off-putting in an intriguing I’ll-just-try-one-in-case-they-taste-yummy sort of way 🙂 What a shame they didn’t work.

  2. Life's amazing journey says:

    They look amazing…and very weird. Bet the kids loved them!

  3. Nancy B says:

    Looks like fun but how do you keep the jelly from running out of the bottom end of the straws?

    • Hi Nancy, I just chose a container that was a snug fit for all the straws and poured in a little extra anyway. Some did escape but not much, because all the trades were level with the bottom…

      • Nancy B says:

        OK, thanks! I think I’m going to substitute a fruit flavored vokda for half of the water. Maybe roll them in sugar, too.

  4. Wow, they’re amazing.But.. can you put video/photo of making it?

    • Hi Juliana, I’d love to do videos, but at this point we’d need to upgrade our blog facilities to do so. If you click on the instructables link within the post it takes you to the original post with more detailed instructions & photos 🙂
      Enjoy!

    • I probably won’t be making them until mid September. A trial run first, then for an event that is later that month.

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

