Daydream Believer

Years ago I read a book called “A Valley in Italy – Confessions of a House Addict” by Lisa St Aubin de Teran. It’s one of several memoirs she has penned, this one detailing her quest for the perfect house in the Italian countryside, which she then set about restoring, amid challenges and change.

Now, I don’t know what it is about books like this but they have some strange pull on my psyche. There has been plenty over the years, all of which I pull off the bookshelves at regular intervals when I’m feeling particularly depressed or lacking in direction. I find them strangely calming….even if I do realise deep down inside that allowing myself several hours of wasted daydreams is probably not the best use of my time.

I would love to have the gall of these people. That ability to just pack up your life into boxes and trunks, risking mental stability and financial ruin in order to create a better, different or more enjoyable life for yourself. It’s what we all really aim for in life I guess, but how many of us really have the guts to go for it?

If you feel the need for an armchair escape, try these out for size:

A Valley in Italy – Confessions of a House Addict
Lisa St Aubin de Teran

Under The Tuscan Sun/Bella Tuscany/In Tuscany
Frances Mayes
www.francesmayesbooks.com

No Going Back – A Journey to Mothers Garden
Martin Kirby
www.mothersgarden.org

Italian Joy/Paris Tango
Carla Coulson

             

A Thousand Days in Venice
Marlena de Blasi

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

