Baking babes…

Kate from Kate Says Stuff is having a Monday Menu linkup. Its all about sharing ideas for yummy food for your weekly menu plan. We thought we’d share our yummy, super easy, four ingredient biscuit recipe which not only is a great treat for morning or afternoon tea, but a lovely recipe to involve the kids with… from our Baking Babes post last week, see below…

So we are still stuck in the house this week. Well pretty much. We did venture out in terrible weather yesterday to go to Miss E’s tiny tot’s dance class only to find it was cancelled. It wasn’t an entirely wasted trip though, the girls were selling fundraising chocolates so I bought their last two pineapple Freddos – I have a bit of an addiction!

I am still sick with this respiratory infection. I am hoping to get rid of it before I start back again at work in less than two weeks, fingers crossed. In the meantime I am running short of home-based things to do with Miss E, so today it was time for some baking together. Its been a little while since I’ve cooked with Miss E – to be honest I’ve avoided it for the last few weeks as I was too tired to deal with the mess! But I have wonderful memories of cooking with my Mum, she’s a great baker. I am not really. I do enjoy it, but I’m a bit too slapdash and have little patience for measuring – Danni is the baker amongst us. I prefer to cook. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy it. I love it, but I have varied success… Suffice to say though, I really want E & Little O to grow up with a love for cooking and baking and it can be a lovely shared experience.

Dad came home the other day with a fabulous CWA Biscuits & Slices book with lovely glossy photos in it. He then turned to the apricot biscuit recipe and suggested I should make them, but with melon & lemon jam that he purchased on a recent trip to Victoria. Well who am I to deny him?

With E & O at the ready we started with the mixer to cream the butter and sugar.

My two apprentices

At this point I will say how much I miss my ‘Big Red’ Kitchenaid who is currently being babysat by friends whilst our house is being built – they have no mixer at all and more benchspace than Dad’s house. So Big Red is having a lovely holiday and gets to play with Thermie the Thermomix (of which I am very jealous!) Big Red is oh so much more quiet and powerful than Dad’s little sunbeam!

So we creamed the butter and sugar – Miss E loved to ‘drive’ the mixer…

E mixing it up

She also loved rolling the mix out into balls…

Little hands

And donned her chef’s hat to pop them on the tray…

Little chef

The end result – not fantastic looking, a bit cracked here and there, but I did say I’m not a baker didn’t I? The texture is good… I can’t vouch for the taste as I have barely any sense of taste or smell at the moment, but Miss E thinks they taste good and was excited to cook for Poppy! Will see what the verdict is from Dad when he arrives home…

Melon lemon biscuits

For those of you that might be interested in the recipe…

Melon and Lemon Biscuits (based on Apricot Biscuit recipe by Mary Handslow from the Orielton Branch/Tas CWA)

Makes 20

  • 85 g softened butter
  • 85 g sugar
  • 1 tablespoon melon & lemon jam (or apricot/whatever takes your fancy really)
  • 140 g self-raising flour

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius. Grease a baking tray.

Cream butter and sugar, beat in jam then add sifted flour and mix well. Take small portions of the mixture and roll into balls. Place on prepared tray and press balls lightly with the back of a fork.

Bake for 10-15 minutes, until golden-brown.

Comments

  1. library geek in training says:

    Did Poppy like them?

  2. He’s eaten most of them, so I think he was pretty happy with them!

  3. So going to try these with my girls. Thank you for the recipe.

  4. Yum!! Thanks so much for linking up 🙂 I’ll be making these this week!

Read it? Like it? Hated it? - we welcome you to leave a comment!

